If you save your journal entry while working on it, the system returns you to the top of the batch. The same thing happens if you delete a line in the middle of your entry - return to the top. You then have to scroll back through your journal entry to find where you were just working.
It would be more efficient to allow saves and row deletions keep you on the same line you are working on.